There are seven sacraments in the catholic church…

Sacraments are, “efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us.” (CCC #1131) In easier to understand terms, sacraments are outward signs instituted by Christ to give grace. There are visible (i.e., water, oil, bread and wine) and invisible (i.e., grace) elements to each sacrament.

There are seven sacraments, but we categorize them into smaller groups which help us to understand their purpose.

Sacraments of Initiation: Baptism, Eucharist, Confirmation

Sacraments of Healing: Reconciliation (Confession), Anointing of the Sick

Sacraments of Vocation: Matrimony, Holy Orders